Washington Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements And License Renewal

Meet your Washington massage therapy CE requirements with ease. If you'd like a refresher on what's needed to renew your license, see the requirements below.

4 Mandatory Hours
18 Elective Hours
24 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your Washington Massage license.

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Washington State Department of Health Board of MassageBoard of Massage. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Massage licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

Washington Massage: Massage Therapist

Total Hours Required: 24
Mandatory Hours: 4
Elective Hours: 18
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2

Online Info

Mandatory subjects:
  • 4 hours of Ethics, Communication or Washington massage law; 2 of these hours must include professional roles and boundaries 

Online Limitations

12 hours are allowed to be completed by home-study.

COVID-19: Policy Statement BOM 20-01 Continuing Education Requirements
During the COVID-19 Response extended through December 31, 2022 Due to the continuing challenges related to meeting the 8 hours of hands on CE requirement, the Board of Massage extended the hands-on CE policy'sexpiration date. Policy number BOM 20-01.5 (PDF) is effective through June 30, 2022. Policy number BOM 20-01.6 (PDF) takes effect July 1,
2022, and will be effective through December 31, 2022.



No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Washington State Department of Health Board of MassageBoard of Massage
Phone: 3602364700
Address: P.O. Box 47877 Olympia, 98504

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.