How Do I Renew My Veterinary License in Florida?

According to the Bureau of Labor and Statistics, more than 78,000 veterinary professionals are working in the United States. Of those, over 4,500 veterinarians work in Florida, making it the third largest state for the veterinary profession in America. If you are a veterinarian in Florida, here’s a quick review of what you’ll need to renew your veterinary license and continue practicing in the Sunshine State.  

Explore CE courses for veterinarians in Florida. 

How do I renew my veterinary license in Florida? 

The Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR) requires all veterinary professionals to complete thirty (30) continuing education hours from an approved CE provider every two years on the even year. The upcoming education renewal date for Florida veterinary professionals is May 31, 2024.  

Only 15 of the total 30 hours may be completed via correspondence or asynchronous online courses. Three (3) of the required 30 hours must include courses on the following topics: 

  • 1 Hour of Drug Dispensing 
  • 2 hours of Laws and Rules 
  • No more than 5 hours may be in complimentary or alternative medicine modalities. 
  • No more than five (5) hours of continuing professional education in business or practice management courses during any biennium period. 
  • No more than five (5) hours of continuing professional education in wellness and wellbeing seminars during any biennium period. 

Renewing your Florida veterinarian license 

The Florida DBPR will send out email notifications to all licensed veterinarians when the renewal period opens. The open period will begin roughly 90 to 120 days before the deadline. Once you receive this emailed notification, you can begin renewing your veterinary license in Florida. 

Before midnight EST on May 31, 2024, you will need to complete the following requirements to renew your license: 

You can log in to your account on the DBPR website and complete your online renewal via the DBPR online services portal. Though online renewals are encouraged, if you want to mail your renewal notice, you can complete the blank renewal form found on the DBPR website. Once complete, mail the form, along with your renewal fee payment, to: 

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399 

What are the fees for Florida veterinary license renewal? 

Active veterinary licenses must submit renewal requests online. Fees paid before the May 31, 2024, deadline for active veterinary licenses are $130. Any fee submitted after the deadline is $155. 

If your Florida veterinary license is currently inactive, you must also submit your renewal request online by the May 31 deadline. Reactivation fees submitted before the deadline are an additional $25. Reactivation fees submitted after the deadline are an additional $50. 

Where can I complete my CE hours? 

Colibri Healthcare, LLC (provider #0008051) offers online CE courses approved by the Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine. Browse online courses for Florida veterinary professionals or save time with a 15-hour package for Florida veterinarians. 

Click here to learn more about Florida veterinary continuing education requirements.